Year 12 | 21 January 2020 | TO ENTER | TO REGISTER

Top agriculture institutes to be awarded with ICAR Awards

Shri Sharad Pawar, the Minister of Agriculture, Consumer Affairs, Food and public Distribution, will honour selected scientists, researchers, institutions and farmers for their outstanding contribution in the field of agriculture, with Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) awards here tomorrow. Minister of State for Agriculture, Consumer Affairs, Food and public Distribution, Prof. KV Thomas and eminent agricultural scientist and Member of Rajya Sabha, Dr. M. S. Swaminathan will also address the gathering.

The ICAR will also celebrate its foundation day tomorrow. The Council, the apex body for research and education in agriculture, has played a pioneering role in ushering Green Revolution and subsequent developments in agriculture in India through its research and technology development. It made a visible impact on the national food and nutritional security by enabling the country to increase the production of foodgrains by 4 times, horticultural crops by 6 times, fish by 9 times (marine 5 times and inland 17 times), milk 6 times and eggs 27 times since 1950-51. It has played a major role in promoting excellence in higher education in agriculture. It is engaged in cutting edge areas of science and technology development and its scientists are internationally acknowledged in their fields.
This year, 135 awardees under 11 different categories have been selected, comprising 5 institutions, 127 scientists and 3 farmers. Out of 127 scientists, 11 are women.

Among the State Agricultural Universities and Deemed Universities, the Best Institution Award has gone to the Indian Veterinary Research Institute, Izatnagar.

The major accomplishments of the IVRI include recognition of High Security Animal Disease Laboratory (HSADL), Bhopal, as OIE approved reference laboratory, seventh in the world, for highly pathogenic avian influenza diagnosis. The Central Soil Salinity Research Institute, Karnal, has been adjudged as the Best ICAR institution for its achievements in reclamation and management of salt-affected soils of India.
Among smaller institutions, the Central Agricultural Research Institute, Port Blair, and Indian Institute of Spices Research, Calicut, have been bestowed jointly with Best Institution Award. The CARI contributed for increasing productivity in agriculture sector in Andaman & Nicobar Islands and the IISR has established the largest collection of spices germplasm in the world.
Jawaharlal Nehru Awards for high quality Ph.D. thesis are to be given to 18 scholars, of which four are women scientists. There are also two women awardees for Panjabrao Deshmukh Woman Agricultural Scientist Award.

The Vasantrao Naik Award for Research Applications in Dryland Agriculture for 2009 has gone to the research team from the Central Research Institute for Dryland Agriculture, Hyderabad.

The Jagjivan Ram Kisan Puraskar has been awarded to two farmers, one from Bihar and the other from Andaman & Nicobar Islands. The N.G. Ranga Award for Diversified Agriculture has been awarded to a farmer from Andhra Pradesh.

The ICAR Team Research Award has been bagged by eleven research teams: two in Crop Improvement, one in Natural Resources, two in Engineering and Technology (jointly), two in Horticulture (jointly), one in Fisheries, two in Animal Production and Health, and one in Social Sciences.

The Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed Award for Outstanding Agricultural Research in Tribal Areas has been bagged by two teams of the Scientists from the NEH Region. One team worked on rice based tribal farming system and the other on pork production.

Six teachers have been selected for the Bharat Ratna Dr C. Subramaniam Award in Crop Science (2), Resource Science (1), Fisheries (1), Veterinary and Animal Science (2).

The authors of six technical books in Hindi, one each in Crop Science, Soil and Agronomy, Horticulture, Animal Production, Fisheries, and Engineering have been selected for Dr Rajendra Prasad Puruskar.

Chaudhary Devi Lal Outstanding AICRP Award has been bagged by All India Coordinated Research Project for Dryland Agriculture, Hyderabad, for developing location-specific technologies in rainwater management.

by S. C.
20 july 2010, World News > Asia